Monday, December 27, 2010
Christmas
Yes.....we did take pictures of Christmas but I can't seem to find time at home to post any on the blog. Someone is ALWAYS on the computer! Thanks to all the Aunties/Uncles/Siblings for the gifts. They were all great. Jan and Petra gave the kids Cranium and I think its a blast. We had a surprise for Christmas Eve....Mark showed up. We didn't know he was coming and it was a real treat for everyone. Mark, the kids and I stayed up and played Cranium. The girls won of course! It was a quiet Christmas dinner with just us and Richard. Tons of food.....all very yummy for the tummy. Then up to Mom/Dad's for round two. By the blogs, it looks like everyone else had a great Christmas too. Jan/Petra/Myself are planning New Years Eve......Don't know if Mom knows it or not....but we will be there with lots of goodies. Anyone from Oregon wanting to make a trip to WA!!! Come on people!!!!
Tuesday, December 21, 2010
December 21, 2010
Today would've been my Dad's 75th Birthday. It doesn't seem possible that he has been gone for 10 years. He always loved this time of year....probably because of his birthday and Christmas. I just pray that I get a fraction of his compassionate nature and unlimited patience. On a lighter note, I made Almond Roca and white chocolate mints last night. I have to make fudge tonight. I'm going easy on the candy making due to lack of funds. Candy making is expensive!! Jord had a relapse of the flu and is pretty miserable. I'm hoping he feels better by Christmas-he has put in a couple long nights. I got a surprise this morning when I came to work.....the Mayor gave me an extra paid holiday for Christmas!!! I only have to work two days this week....Whoo Hoo!
Friday, December 17, 2010
Ba Hum Bug
I drug myself home last night with a sore throat and body hurting. I had to do the city Santa Festivities while Jord and the kids were eating Taco's and helping decorate Grandpa/Grandma's tree. Sounds like they had a lot more fun than I did! Feeling much better today. Lots of hot tea, hot cocoa....more chocolate. This stuff is weird....I feel pretty good until around 5:00, then kabam! I have a sore throat. Games tonight, tomorrow night and Monday night....I will have to remain calm and not yell. I went to Jan's Flicker page and looked at pictures, but didn't see any video option to look at video's and no extra basketball pictures to view....I may have to call her and find out the secret. Hope everyone has a good weekend....I know I will, I took Monday off!!!Yippee
Thursday, December 16, 2010
Life at the Wilson
Well, Jord is finely better and the rest of us manage to get along with a few sniffles, sore throat and an occasional tooth ache. I didn't make it out to church last night.....I wasn't feeling up to par.....woke up this morning feeling much better, just a little sore throat. I have to finish shopping on Monday in Wenatchee. I took the day off to go to Creston's games at the Toyota Center, so I may as well finish up with Christmas. I apologize to Liz for dumping my gifts at her feet. I ordered most of Christmas online due to the fact that we don't have much in Wenatchee and we never get to Spokane. So, the Oregon kids will get their gifts umwrapped but filled with hugs. Hope everyone is feeling good and that Christmas treats you well.
Monday, December 13, 2010
18 Years!!
How funny....Audrey is right. It's been 18 years not 19. At work I've been working on the 2011 budget for three months, so I think all the time that its 2011 not 2010.
Fa La La La!!!
Petra asked me to host the Frugal Sister Christmas Party and I must say.....I don't think we could've squeezed anymore bodies into our livingroom. Ha Ha. I counted 35 people including kids.....don't know if it was a little more or less. I had a really great night!!! Nancy played the piano and we sang Christmas Carols, which at times was a hoot! (Jan & Manthy) Jord has done an amazing job at decorating the house....me and the kids can only take credit for the tree. Anyway....great idea Petra. I enjoyed myself and it looked like everyone else did too. Yesterday, Jord and I had been married 19 years!!! WoW! People asked me....Your having a party at your house on your anniversary??? Well, Jord and I never celebrate our anniversary in December because we are always broke. We always do something after the first of the year.
Friday, December 10, 2010
Concert
The JH/Highschool Concert was fantastic!! Mr. McBride sure does a great job with these kids. I was so excited to see 36 kids in the choir...Wow...that's great for Pateros. We had 32 in choir at Brewster when I was in Highschool. The Band looked like it had grown too. I chuckled at Tag last night. He was so worried that Jerry wasn't going to buy him cookies.....be came to his Auntie and I snuck him all the broken cookies that we couldn't sell. As I seen it...it was a win-win, I was going to throw them away anyway.
Thursday, December 9, 2010
Today
Well, I woke up at 5:00 am to get the kids ready for early morning practice....Gotta love basketball (grumble). They had early practice because of the Christmas concert tonight. I stayed home from church last night to take care of the sickies in my house. Creston was better this morning (little).....determined to go to school, he's got a full schedule this week with the concert and two more games. I would've preferred him to stay home one more day....I don't know how much running he thinks he will be able to do when he's congested! I'm going to vent a little.....yesterday when I went to pick up Creston from school, Laura Divis said...."I didn't know he wasn't feeling good, he didn't come to the office and tell us." It was lunchtime and Creston used his cell phone. She then said "Well, its our policy that the kids come here and we take their temperature and we determine whether they are sick then we let them call home." I very politely stated "Well, I think that is my job as the Mom to determine whether my child is sick or not, not everytime are they going to run a fever." She said "True...." I told Laura, "Look, Creston is an A student, he waited until after his Physic's test to call me....you got to give him credit for that! I then turned to Creston and told him next time he needed to come to office so they knew he was calling me and then I would come and pick him up. My problem is....I understand the need for the kids to check with the office, however, I don't think they should be the ones determining whether my child is sick enough to call home. What happens if its a personal problem and its something that we don't talk about to everyone!!! Hello people!! Enough....I think they got the point. On a good note....Jord is feeling better this morning....it must've been the homemade pizza I made for him last night. Ha!
Wednesday, December 8, 2010
Schedule
Ran home after work, cooked pasta with chicken then started making cookies to sell at the Christmas concert. Of course, I was going to send 3 dozen or so to the concert, but.....we ended up eating a dozen for ourselves. You can't make double chocolate chip cookies and not have a taste. Jord is grumbling around. He started getting sick yesterday and still not feeling good today....sore throat, body aches, headaches....stay away from me. You know he's sick when he trades in coffee for OJ. Gotta love my kids.....this morning, Creston went out and started the car so it would be all warm when I got in and Kat had plowed the pathway to the car so my feet didn't get snowy.....maybe I need to feed them double chocolate chip cookies more often.
Friday, December 3, 2010
Games
Well, the boys played hard but didn't play their best.... but the girls did really well. Great game for Rhi....we were all pretty proud of her last night. She stepped up and took ownership of the court....LOVED IT!!! Coming out of the gym last night, I fell on the concrete.....Totally humiliated!!! Drop and Roll was what was going through my mind before I hit the ground. Jonathan Gelstin was right there to help me up and dust off by coat. Nice young man....I reassured everyone looking that I was alright. Of course Jord, Marty and the kids were already in the truck waiting and Kim hadn't come out of the bathroom, so it was just me.....so I was thankful for Jonathan's help. This morning....more than a little sore but still o.k. I must've been moaning in my sleep last night because Jord would pat me and ask if I was alright. Of course, he doesn't remember anything. Ha Ha. It's tough getting old and not as flexible as you once were.....I was thankful for the extra padding though.
Thursday, December 2, 2010
It's December!!
As Liz keeps reminding us on her blog....December 1st....December 2nd. STOP!! I haven't even started shopping. Shopping will be very different this year. I will have to buy a little this week, a little next week and so on. This is a pain, but you do what you gotta do. I am going to try and get all the Oregon people's gifts to them on time, but no promises.....you may get them a couple days late. Jord is officially in hibernation....you will be lucky to see him until spring! Just kidding. Although, he only gets out when he has too. (chores and basketball games) I want to get my Christmas tree tonight on the way to Tonasket B-Ball game. We carpool with the Evan's so I thought I could make use of Marty's truck and throw my tree in it. Busy weekend ahead....Christmas tree decorating, Ruben/Manthy over on Saturday to watch the Big 12 Championship game----GO OU!!! Not sure how I feel about all this snow. It's pretty, but with it snowing so early, I think we are in for a long snowy winter.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)